Professional Web Design

More surprises as NPP incumbents lose in parliamentary primaries

January 27, 2024

In a twist of events, incumbent Member of for , Gifty Twum-Ampofo, faced defeat in the New Patriotic Party's . Nana Ampaw Addo-Frempong, popularly known as Buffalo, emerged victorious with 222 votes, while Twum-Ampofo secured 202 votes.

Notably, Palgrave Boakye Danquah, a prominent figure in Ghana's security and governance, garnered 76 votes, and Nana Kwame Mamfe received four votes, contributing to a tightly contested election.

In Tano North, , an incumbent, suffered defeat in the parliamentary primary. The spokesperson of the Vice President and flagbearer, Dr , secured a decisive victory with 444 votes, leaving Prempeh with 221 votes.

The Atiwa West constituency witnessed Laurrette Korkor Asante emerging as the winner with 177 votes in the primary to replace Kwasi Amoako Attah. Prince Benjamin Aboagye garnered 134 votes, Kingsley Ofosu Ntiamoah secured 48 votes, and Samuel Awuah Danquah lagged with only 18 votes.

Latest from Politics