He donated a pick-up truck in his 2020 bid, took it back when he lost and stayed away from party activities. Now incumbent MP KT Hammond, others petition to disqualify him

KT Hammond not going unopposed
KT Hammond

, The Regional Parliamentary Vetting Committee in the Ashanti Region has received a petition against Samuel Binfoh Darkwa, a parliamentary aspirant at Adansi Asokwa, filed by members of the N.P.P. Constituency Executive Committee.

The petition, dated January 2, 2024, raises concerns about Darkwa's eligibility for the upcoming parliamentary primaries.

The petition, signed by several constituency executive members, alleges that Samuel Binfoh Darkwa donated a pick-up to the constituency in 2020 during his bid in the parliamentary primaries.

However, after losing in the primaries, Darkwa reportedly took back the donated vehicle and has not participated in any party activities since then.

Kwame Owusu, the chairman of the constituency since 2018, stated, “After he lost in the primaries, he came and deceived us, and took the donated pick-up away and never returned it. He has not been part of any party activity since he lost the last primaries.”

The petition further claims that Darkwa only associates with the party during parliamentary primaries and does not contribute to the constituency party in any other capacity.

Samuel Awui, who has served as the assistant secretary, acting secretary, and substantive secretary of the constituency party for the past fourteen years, emphasized, “SAMUEL BINFOH DARKWA has never been part of any constituency activity and has never made any contribution to the constituency party that I know of in the various capacities I have indicated.”

The petition concludes by invoking Article 12(4) and (7) of the party's constitution, claiming that Samuel Binfoh Darkwa does not qualify to contest in the parliamentary primaries of the Adansi Asokwa constituency. The committee is urged to investigate the allegations.

The undersigned members of the petition are:

  1. Kwame Owusu (Chairman)
  2. Joshua Opare (1st Vice Chairman)
  3. Obiri Yeboah (2nd Vice Chairman)
  4. Samuel Awui (Deputy, Acting & Substantive Sec for 14 years)
  5. Gladys Ofori (Women Organizer)
  6. Francis Yaw Ange
  7. Anthony Adu Frimpong (Treasurer)
  8. Opoku Agyemang (Financial Secretary)
  9. Ambrose Appiah (Research & Election)
  10. Joseph Korankye (Communication Officer)
  11. Frank Nti-Wae (Deputy Organizer)
  12. Issaka Karim (Deputy Nasara)
  13. Augustine Adomako (Deputy Youth Organizer)
  14. Grace Dwumfour (Deputy Women Organizer)
  15. K.T. Hammond (Member of )

A copy of the petition has also been sent to the General Secretary of the N.P.P. headquarters in for their attention.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.