NPP Primaries Election Results: Full list of MPs who lost, or retained their seats

2 mins read
NPP Primaries - Full list of MPs who lost, or retained their seats

The recent parliamentary primaries, held on January 27, showcased unexpected wins and losses, reshaping the party's political dynamics.

Freda Prempeh

Minister of Sanitation and Water Resources, Freda Prempeh, faced a major upset in Tano North, losing to Dr. Gideon Boako, the Vice President's Spokesperson, who secured a strong win with 444 votes against Prempeh's 221.

Adwoa Safo

Dome-Kwabenya witnessed a surprising defeat for Adwoa Safo, former Minister for Gender, Children, and Social Protection. Mike Ocquaye Jr. secured a convincing victory with 1194 votes, leaving Safo with only 328.

Gifty Twum-Ampofo

Incumbent Gifty Twum-Ampofo narrowly lost in to Nana Ampaw Addo-Frempong, known as “Buffalo,” who garnered 222 votes compared to Twum-Ampofo's 202.

Tina Gifty Mensah

Deputy Minister of Health, Tina Gifty Mensah, faced an unexpected defeat in Weija Gbawe, losing to Jerry Ahmed Shab, who secured a commanding win with 786 votes to Mensah's 361.

These unforeseen outcomes have ignited discussions within the , prompting questions about voter sentiment and the party's future trajectory.

NPP Primaries Election Results – Key Victories

Amidst the surprises, key incumbents retained their positions. In Adansi-Asokwa, K.T. Hammond emerged victorious with 311 votes against Samuel Binfoh Darkwa's 125 votes. -Ekuful secured a resounding victory in Ablekuma West with 817 votes, beating Roni Paa Kwesi Nicol, who polled 241 votes.

The Bortianor Ngleshie Amafrom constituency saw clinching victory with 590 votes. Frank Annoh-Dompreh, the Majority Chief Whip, maintained his stronghold in Adoagyiri with 734 votes.

In the Constituency, Greater Regional Minister Henry Quartey emerged triumphant with 594 votes.

The parliamentary primaries unfolded with a mix of key incumbents retaining their positions and surprising upsets, marking a significant chapter in the political trajectory of the New Patriotic Party.

Below is a representation of the incumbent NPP MPs who participated in Saturday's primaries and whether or not they lost their seats, the table is organized into regions;

Ashanti Region

NPP Primaries
KT Hammond
ConstituencyIncumbent MPResult
Adansi AsokwaKT HammondRetained
Afigya Kwabre NorthCollins Adomako MensahRetained
Afigya Sekyere EastMavis Nkansah-BoaduRetained
Asante Akim CentralKwame Ayimadu-AntwiRetained
Asante Akim NorthAndy Kwame Appiah-KubiRetained
Asante Akim SouthKwaku Asante-BoatengRetained
AsokwaPatricia AppiagyeiRetained
Atwima KwanwomaKofi Amankwa-ManuRetained
Atwima MponuaIsaac Kwame AsiamahLost
Atwima Nwabiagya SouthEmmanuel Agyei AnhwereLost
BantamaFrancis Asenso-BoakyeRetained
Bosome FrehoAkwasi Darko BoatengLost
JuabenAma Pomaa BoatengLost
KwadasoKingsley NvarkoRetained
MampongKwaku Ampratwum-SarpongINJUNCTED
Manhyia NorthAkwasi KonaduRetained
Manhyia SouthMatthew Opoku PrempehRetained
NyiaesoDr. Stephen AmoahRetained
Manso AdubiaYaw Frimpong AddoRetained
Manso NkwantaGeorge Kwabena Obeng TakyiLost
Nsuta Kwamang BeposoAdelaide NtimRetained
Obuasi EastPatrick Boakye-YiadomRetained
Obuasi WestKwaku Agyemang KwartengINJUNCTED
OdotobriEmmanuel Akwasi GyamfiLost
Offinso NorthNtim Augustine CollinsLost
Old TafoVicent Ekow AssafuahRetained
SubinEugene Boakye AntwiLost

Central Region

NPP Primaries
Mavis Hawa Koomson
ConstituencyIncumbent MPResult
MfantsemanOphelia MensahRetained
Hemang Lower DenkyiraBright Wireko-BrobbyLost
Abura Asebu KwamankeseElvis Morris DonkohLost
Gomoa CentralNaana Eyiah
Mavis Hawa KoomsonRetained
Agona WestCynthia Mamle MorrisonSUSPENDED

Ahafo Region

NPP Primaries
Freda Prempeh
ConstituencyIncumbent MPResult
Asunafo NorthEvans Bobie OpokuRetained
Tano NorthFreda PrempehLost
Asutifi NorthPatrick BanorRetained

Eastern Region

Frank Annoh-Dompreh
Frank Annoh-Dompreh
ConstituencyIncumbent MPResult
/AdoagyiriFrank Annoh-DomprehRetained
AbiremOsei John FrimpongLost
Gifty Twum-AmpofoLost
KadeAgyare Alexander
Lower West AkimCharles AcheampongRetained
Asene Akroso MansoGeorge Kwame Aboagye
NkawkawJoseph Frempong
Atiwa EastAbena Osei-AsareRetained
MpraesoDavis Ansah Opoku
Akim SwedruKennedy Osei Nyarko
SuhumKwadjo AsanteLost
New Juaben SouthMichael Okyere Baafi
Fanteakwa SouthKofi Okyere-AgyekumLost
Fanteakwa NorthKwabena Amankwa AsiamahLost
AchiaseKofi Ahenkorah Marfo

Greater Accra Region

NPP Primaries
ConstituencyIncumbent MPResult
Bortianor Ngleshie AmanfromSylvester M. TettehRetained
Dome KwabenyaLost
Ablekuma NorthSheila BartelsLost
Henry QuarteyRetained
Anyaa SowutuomDickson Adomako KissiRejected
Ablekuma West-EkufulRetained
AmasamanAkwasi Owusu Afrifa-MensahLost
CentralYves Hanson-NorteyLost
Weija GbaweTina Gifty Naa Ayeley MensahLost
TrobuMoses AnimLost
Greater Region

Bono Region

ConstituencyIncumbent MPResult
Berekum WestKwaku Agyenim BoatengRetained
Dormaa CentralKwaku Agyeman ManuRetained
Berekum EastNelson KyeremehRetained

Western Region

ConstituencyIncumbent MPResult
Tarkwa-NsuaemGeorge Mireku DukerRetained
KwesimintsimPrince Hamid ArmahRetained
SekondiAndrew Kofi Egyapa Mercer
EfiaJoseph CudjoeLost
ShamaSamuel Erickson AbakahLost
MpohorJohn Kobin Abbam Aboah SanieRetained
Western Region

Northern Region

ConstituencyIncumbent MPResult
ZabzuguJabaah John BennamLost
NantonMohammed Hardi TufeiruRetained
YendiUmar Farouk Aliu Mahama
MionMusah Abdul-Aziz Ayaba
Northern Region

Upper West Region

ConstituencyIncumbent MPResult
Sissala EastAmidu Chinnia IssahakuRetained

Bono East Region

ConstituencyIncumbent MPResult
Pru WestJalulah PambiinStephen

North East Region

ConstituencyIncumbent MPResult
WalewaleLariba Zuwera Abudu
North East Region

Savannah Region

ConstituencyIncumbent MPResult
Daboya-MankariguMahama Asei Seini
Salaga NorthAlhassan Abdallah Iddi

Western North Region

ConstituencyIncumbent MPResult
Bibiani-Anhwiaso Alfred Obeng-Boateng
Sefwi AkontombraDjornobuah Alex Tetteh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Politics