Professional Web Design

Historic victory for women as 6 secure parliamentary seats in Central Region

Historic victory for women as six secure parliamentary seats in Central Region: Ghana News

In a groundbreaking achievement, six women out of the fifteen who contested in the during the 2020 Parliamentary Election have emerged victorious, securing seats in .

Notably, four of the triumphant candidates are affiliated with the New Patriotic Party (), while the remaining two represent the National Democratic Congress ().

The NPP Members of Parliament include Mrs. Cynthia Mamle Morrison, the incumbent MP for , who garnered 30,513 votes, and Mavis , the incumbent MP for , securing an impressive 57,114 votes against her NDC contender Ms Naa Koryo Okunor.

Mrs Morrison, a 56-year-old politician, received significant support during her campaign, winning with 30,513 votes against NDC's Paul Ofori-Amoah, who obtained 27,673 votes.

Mrs Koomson, despite facing challenges and a smear campaign, triumphed for the third time, securing 57,114 votes against Ms. Naa Koryo Okunor's 51,561.

Other successful NPP candidates include Mrs. Naana Eyiah Quansah, the incumbent MP for Gomoa Central, and Mrs. Ophelia Mensah Hayford, a new entrant who replaced her late husband, Ekow Kwansa Hayford.

Mrs Quansah retained her seat with 20,527 votes, while Mrs Hayford secured the highest votes for the NPP in the Mfantseman Constituency with 36,091 votes.

On the NDC ticket, Mrs. Gizella Tetteh–Agbotui, a new entrant, secured the seat for Awutu Senya West with 32,702 votes, dethroning NPP's George Andah, the incumbent who received 29,832 votes. Another NDC victor is Madam Queenstar Maame Pokua Sawyerr, the incumbent MP for Agona East, who retained her seat with 23,247 votes.

The NPP, which held 19 out of the 23 seats in the region in 2016, faced a setback, losing nine seats to the opposition NDC. The NDC now boasts a total of 13 seats in the Central Region, showcasing a significant shift in the political landscape.

In total, of the 80 candidates who contested in the Parliamentary race in the Central Region, 17 men and six women have secured their place in the Parliament House.

Latest from Politics