Professional Web Design

MPs reject ministerial appointments in President Akufo-Addo’s reshuffle

February 19, 2024
MPs reject ministerial appointments in President Akufo-Addo's reshuffle
Dr Nana Ayew Afriye and Kwaku Agyeman Kwarteng

Recent information from the has revealed that two Members of (MPs) nominated for critical ministries in President Nana Addo Dankwa 's ministerial reshuffle have rejected the offers to join the government.

Sources from the Jubilee House have confirmed that Dr Nana Ayew Afriye and Kwaku Agyeman Kwarteng, representing the Effiduase Asokore constituency and Constituency in the respectively, declined the president's offers due to personal reasons.

Dr. Ayew Afriye, nominated for the , cited his principled stance against the size of the government as the reason for his refusal. The astute medical doctor and parliamentarian has been vocal about the need to downsize the government to reduce spending, and his refusal came as a surprise to the presidency, given his position as the Chairman of the Health Committee of Parliament.

Similarly, Kwaku Agyeman Kwarteng, the MP for Obuasi West Constituency, expressed dissatisfaction with his treatment by the president and declined another ministerial position. Having served as a Deputy Minister at the in President Akufo-Addo's first term, Mr Kwarteng conveyed his contentment with his role as the Chairman of Parliament's finance committee and opted not to accept any new appointment.

These rejections highlight concerns within the government regarding its size and management, as well as the personal decisions of the MPs involved.

Latest from Politics