MP urges strict enforcement of land zoning in Ningo-Prampram District

MP urges strict enforcement of land zoning in Ningo-Prampram District
Ningo-Prampram District Assembly members

Mr. Samuel Nartey George, the Member of for Ningo-Prampram, has called on the Ningo-Prampram District Assembly (NIPDA) to rigorously enforce land zoning regulations in the district to control development effectively.

During the inauguration and swearing-in ceremony of the 33-member assembly, comprising 22 elected members and 10 government appointees, Mr. George emphasized the importance of adhering to land zoning guidelines. He expressed concern that despite the zoning of areas into residential, commercial, and industrial zones, the assembly was not adequately controlling development.

Mr. George directed his remarks towards the District Engineer, emphasizing the need for strict enforcement of permit issuance. He asserted that no construction should be permitted without prior approval from the District Chief Executive (DCE), even if the land had been sold by chiefs or family heads. He stressed the importance of aligning construction plans with zoning regulations to prevent haphazard development.

Highlighting the adverse consequences of uncontrolled land sales and development, Mr George cited recent floods in parts of Dawhenya caused by the sale and filling of river buffers, leading to the displacement of over 600 residents. He urged all stakeholders to prioritize adherence to regulations for the collective benefit of the community.

In emphasizing individual responsibility for national development, Mr. George emphasized the need for all citizens to contribute to the country's progress. He reminded attendees that decisions made at the local level, such as land sales, have far-reaching implications and require careful consideration.

Mr Al-Latiff Tetteh Amanor, the Ningo-Prampram District Chief Executive (DCE), congratulated the assembly members and encouraged them to collaborate closely with the assembly to focus on the of the district.

However, the assembly members were unable to elect a presiding member, as neither of the two contenders, Mr Peter Akplehe Agyeman and Mr Nathan Nartey, received the required 23 votes out of the 33 assembly members. Mr. Agyeman received 20 votes, while Mr. Nartey received 13 votes.

Overall, Mr. George's remarks underscored the critical need for effective land management practices to ensure sustainable development and mitigate adverse impacts on the community.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.